Epilepsy Walk 2013

ep·i·lep·sy

noun /ˈepəˌlepsē/

  1. A neurological disorder marked by sudden recurrent episodes of sensory disturbance, loss of consciousness, or convulsions, associated with abnormal electrical activity in the brain

So today, I traveled to volunteer at an Epilepsy Foundation’s Epilepsy Walk… and it was amazing. I cheered and clapped and “You’re awesome”d and “You rock”ed my little heart out. It may have been more amazing if I’d actually ran in the walk/ run, but we’re getting there, right? Slowly, gradually will I work my way up to actually, really participating as a runner/ walker. This is  my second year participating and I love how I feel afterwards. I love when the participants give me high fives or thank me, like I’m the one running in the race but I guess it’s good that I’m there because I could’ve been at home listening to the Ceremonials album by Florence + The Machine that I just got that took me years to get and I never realized that I wanted it even though I’d been listening to the band’s amazing music for a long time and I still don’t know why it took me so long to get the album, but anyways… no, I was there helping in the face of a cause. I love when people who started the race running, walk by me and then I start cheering and they look at me and smile and start running again. I like watching the little people run- OMG it’s such a joy to see babies walking for a cause. I like feeling a part of something bigger than myself. I like helping with something that’s bigger than me. And more importantly I like feeling like I’m honoring the life of this boy that I knew named Jalil, who had epilepsy and accidentally shot himself with a gun he found in he and his parents’ home. When I woke up this morning, at 4: 30 AM mind you, I asked myself “Do I really want to go? Will it really be worth it?” and then I thought about Jalil and I forced myself to get the hell out of bed.

There were other highlights in my day like getting my hair sprayed purple (the color of the epilepsy ribbon) and my tattoo and listening to one of friends come up with chants. This is what they sounded like “P U R P L E! Lets do it for that epilepsy…” She’s so special. Right before she started the chant she bent down and then popped back up when runners would walk by, surprising the hell out of them. Did I mention she was special? Anyways, I also liked watching this little boy, who was wearing this stop my seizures today sticker, doing the Gangam style. He was sooo good. I should’ve videotaped it. I’ll get better with the visuals dolls and documenting more, for all of you to see. But overall I loved my day.

Maybe next year, you could do something in the name of epilepsy. Because, as a t-shirt I read today mentioned:

Epilepsy. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Kisses!

-M.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a fabulous reply:

